Image

Egrets

IMG_2437

At the end of last year, I started seeing lovely white egrets visiting the bayside parks where I like to walk after work. First I saw one or two, then suddenly there were so many it was like an egret festival had descended upon the bay. I found myself fascinated by these beautiful birds.

Try as I might, I could not get a really good photograph of an egret with my iPhone. I’ve been an avid iPhone photographer of things I see while walking about in parks or my neighborhood or hikes for years. One can take quite nice iPhone photographs of certain things, as long as they do not require zoom and you have enough natural light. Getting close enough to an egret was not possible.

IMG_2457

I became slightly obsessed with this idea of taking photos of egrets, and suggested to Santa (my dad) that I would like a real camera. As luck would have it, Santa already had a DSLR currently not being used. So when Christmas rolled around, I found myself the proud new owner of a Canon EOS 40D and a Canon 28 – 135 mm lens.

It had been years since I last used a camera that was not part of a phone. The nicest thing about a phone camera is that you always have it with you. I’ve never taken so many photos  consistently as I did with my iPhone. Another benefit is that there’s not much to think about. The iPhone as camera is so unobtrusive, one can completely forget about the act of photography and focus in on the most important things like framing and composition.

The first time I took out the DSLR, it intimidated me. But I read the manual, watched some videos, and went out to my parks. The first time I saw my photos when I got back to my computer, I was hooked. I want to be a Real Photographer! I want to start a photoblog! Must take more photos!

Egret

I made a point of going out to the parks before and after work every day this week. Not only are early mornings and late afternoons the only time I’m free, they are also the times of most beautiful sunlight. In my first week out, I took over 500 photographs of birds, snails, plants, and park scenes. As you can see from this post, I managed to capture several photos of the egrets that got me interested in upping my photo game in the first place.

I am inspired and gratified by this photography adventure on which I am embarking and I am going to take you with me, dear blog reader. Expect to see bay area nature and wildlife in this space. I live in one of the most gorgeous places of natural beauty on earth and I am going to capture what I see and share it with you. Welcome!

5 thoughts on “Egrets

Leave a Reply

