Image

Evening Egrets

It was only a matter of time before some bridges ended up on this here Bay Area photoblog. Behold the San Mateo Bridge at sunset. I can assure that you this is a much nicer vantage point than the view you would have if you were one of the miserable commuters sitting in rush hour traffic on it.

San Mateo Bridge

I am pleased to say I’ve started shooting in manual mode. Keep in mind, I have been taking photos with my iPhone only for the last several years, so this is a learning experience for me. The last camera I really used that wasn’t attached to a phone was the Sony Digital Mavica – it stored images on a floppy disc! Slowly but surely I am getting the hang of having settings I can set. It’s a blast.

Egret on Alert

I’m still working on my Sneaking Up on Birds skills.

Egret Flying with Power Lines

But since I disturbed him, I got a chance to practice my Bird In Flight photo skills instead. I got a couple in focus by shooting continuously and panning, but I liked this one best with the geometric shapes of the power lines in the background.

Leave a Reply

