Image

Point Reyes – Bear Creek Trail

There were several challenging things about this hike that made photography difficult.

  1. I am out of shape and it’s hard to focus on photos when you’re focusing on not dying.
  2. Mid-day sun is really harsh and difficult. The shadows are so dark and the highlights are so bright. Toward the end of the day it started getting better, but I much prefer the early morning or late afternoon for photos. However you can’t hike for 5-6 hours in nice light, because Earth doesn’t work that way.
  3. It was hot and my glasses fogged up when I put the camera to my face. I am *almost* tempted enough to try contacts again, but I just know how uncomfortable they are for me. Hopefully my new glasses won’t do this as much since they are smaller.

Anyway, I took a lot of photos and some of them are decent. Here are some images of the lovely scenery:

Beach, with waterfall:

And, of course, flowers (and a butterfly)!

It’s a learning experience. Luckily, I live here! So I can do it all again and improve my photographs each time.

Leave a Reply

