Image

New Magical Macro Lens Heaven

macro lensSo it begins… I have invested in new lenses for my camera. The camera (Canon EOS 40D) and the lens I have been using (Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS) were Christmas presents, so this is the first money I am investing in photography. I tried to resist, and held out valiantly for a few months, but with a job promotion and finishing paying off my student loans, I felt it was time to buy myself a present.

Or two. I’ll get to the other lens on another post, but for now I want to share my first day’s shooting with my new Canon Macro Lens EF 100mm f/2.8 L IS. Oh, it is so nice. It feels nice. And looking at my photos from this afternoon, I’m pretty sure its main component is some kind of magic. Anyway, without further ado, pictures.

 

pink magicpink magic_1

Gah! Magic. Clearly, flowers are my thing and I love flowers and want to take photos of all the flowers all the time. But there are other things too. Like beehives!

Bees Nest

And raindrops on spiderwebs.

rain in the spider web

And flame colored ice plant that looks like it should be under the sea, but is growing on the earth.

ice plant flames

And budding pine cones. These are teeny tiny. Hello Macro Amazement!

pine cone bud

But mostly flowers. Can’t wait to see what else I can do with this new toy.

3 thoughts on “New Magical Macro Lens Heaven

Leave a Reply

