Image

UC Santa Cruz Arboretum

What a great time to visit the UCSC Arboretum. There are many flowers blooming, bees buzzing, hummingbirds humming, and lizards sunning themselves on rocks.

My favorite of the day had to be the incredibly fragrant Australian tree that smelled like spicy cardamom vanilla creme brulee. Oh, I wanted to bottle up that scent and take it with me. Behold the best smelling flower on earth, Kunzea ambigua:

kunzea ambigua

Many of the flowers looked like alien underwater hairbrushes to me. That’s the technical term for this type of flower structure, by the way:

Others look like fuzzy snails.

snail flowers

The foliage on one of the trees looked almost metallic. I looks like I did some funny photo-editing to this next picture, but you’ll have to take my word for it that there is a flowering tree that appears to be made of silver. Bees seemed to love it.

bee feast

I could have spent all day here. It was just so calm and relaxing and full of lovely sights and sounds. It would be a great place to take a book to read or s sketchbook. Or, of course, your camera!

blossoming now in progress

Leave a Reply

