Image

Monte Bello Open Space Preserve

I hiked in a new park today, Monte Bello Open Space Preserve. I keep a Google Earth map of the parks I have hiked in the Bay Area. My goal is to hike ALL of the parks. It’s a long term project. Here’s a screenshot of my hiking map:

Hiking places

Monte Bello is the southern-most park I’ve visited, aside from Big Basin. Slowly working my way down the Santa Cruz mountains.

This seems like a good time to mention my love of Bay Area Hiker. I’ve done many of her hikes, including the one I did today, which you can find here. I highly recommend her site, it is a great place to get hiking ideas and help identifying wildflowers.

I took my wide angle and my macro lens with me today. I’m going to share my vistas first, and then I’ll add a second post with flowers tomorrow (lots of those!)

I really liked this park. Rolling hills, lovely long mountain views, a stream with rushing water, and just a nice overall experience. It was quiet and relatively empty for a bay area park on a pleasant Sunday. My personal favorite thing here was the view of the fog cloud icing hanging over the mountains to to west.

Monte Bello1Monte Bello2Monte Bello3Monte Bello4Monte Bello5Monte Bello6Monte Bello7

One thought on “Monte Bello Open Space Preserve

Leave a Reply

