Image

Camellia – Colored Pencil

I took the reference photo for this drawing with my iPhone. I distinctly remember taking it because it happened to be the day of the U.S. presidential election and I was working as the Inspector at a polling place in Burlingame, CA where I live. It’s funny, I’m utterly tired of hearing and thinking about politics, but I like working at the elections. It’s fun to meet my neighbors and interesting to participate in the local government bureaucracy.

It was a beautiful day, warm and sunny. On one of my breaks, I walked past the camellia growing on a large bush in someone’s front yard. This particular blossom caught my eye because of the interplay of red and purple in the markings on the petals.

Allow me to get a bit philosophical about my little drawing. I know a lot of people are quite unhappy with the results of aforementioned election. I know that world events are important. But also, we have our own lives that only happen once (unless you’re one of those people who reincarnates I suppose) and most of us, my friends, Americans, have a lot of good in our lives. Maybe just a nice day and a pretty flower, but something worth feeling happy about. Sometimes it seems like a lot of people I know have forgotten about that, or spend so much time focused on all that ails the world as to forget to see the beauty that’s right there, in our neighbors’ yards.

That’s what I was thinking about when I worked on this flower.

Camellia
Prismacolor Premier on Canson Mi Tientes pastel paper in dark blue
8 x 8 inches
reference photo my own

camellia

One thought on “Camellia – Colored Pencil

Leave a Reply

