Image

Nigella damascena

At last, I have found the ultimate answer to my plant identification needs in the form of a Facebook group called “Plant Identification and Discussion.” Once posted, a photo of any plant (it seems) will be identified very quickly. This morning I saw Nigella damascena, a flower I had not seen before, identified in the group, and then this afternoon I saw it in the park! It was identified before I even knew I needed it to be identified. Some common names for it are love-in-a-mist, ragged lady, or devil in a bush.

Lately I have been getting more interested in the plants themselves and not just photographing and drawing them. I’ve been reading a lot of books, blogs, and watching a lot of videos by botanical artists and illustrators. Plants are really cool.

Nigella damascena, Love-in-a-mist:

Leave a Reply

